[WML-Source: InfoWindow.wml][TOC][Part00]

[chapter]

[section]The InfoWindow

  [images/InfoHeader.tga]

[subsection]InfoHeader

[point]WindowType (IconMenu)

  [images/InfoWindowType.tga]

As in all Blender window headers, the first button allows you to configure the window type.

[point]Menus

  [images/Menu.tga]

With the menus you can easily access common commands, like saving and loading.

  [images/FileMenu.tga]

  [images/EditMenu.tga]

  [images/ViewMenu.tga]

The menu entries are very common and doing the things they are labeled. A special thing is the Tools menu:

  [images/ToolsMenu.tga]

With Pack Data you can pack Images, Fonts and Sounds into the Blend-file, allowing to distribute easily your files as a single file. As a sign that your file is packed, a little icon of a parcel appears in the menu-bar.

Unpack Data into current dir unpacks into the current directory on your harddisk. It creates directories for textures, sounds and fonts there.

The Advanced Unpack menu gives you more control to unpack files. The entries are self-explaining.

  [images/AdvancedUnpackMenu.tga]

[point]Screen Browse (MenuBut)

  [images/ScreenBrowse.tga]

Allows you to select a different Screen from a list. The option "Add New" creates an exact copy of the current Screen. The copy is 'invisble': only the name on the adjacent button changes. HotKey for next or previous Screen: (CTRL-)ALT+ARROWLEFT or (CTRL-)ALT+ARROWRIGHT

[point]SCR: (TextBut)

Assign a new and unique name to the current Screen and then adds the new name to the list in alphabetical order.

[point]Delete Screen (But)

"Delete Current Screen?" The current Screen is deleted and released.

[point]Scene Browse (MenuBut)

  [images/SceneBrowse.tga]

Select a different scene from a list. This button is blocked in EditMode.

"Add New" displays a PopupMenu with four options:

[point]SCE: (TextBut)

Assigns a new and unique name to the current Scene and places the new name in the list in alphabetical order.

[point]Delete Scene (But)

"OK? Delete Current Scene". This button deletes and releases the current Scene without deleting Objects. Objects without users are not written to a file.

[point]The information text

  [images/InfoText.tga]

The standard text is:

[point]Changes in EditMode:

- Ve: 0-4 Fa: 0-1: The first numeric value is the number of selected vertices, the second is the total number of vertices. The numeric values for the second variable apply to faces and have the same significance. During and after rendering: The values for the totals are changed to reflect the rendered picture. These values may be different from the totals displayed in the 3DWindow.

[point]The Toolbox-icon

Clicking the Toolbox-icon will pop up the Toolbox, like SPACE does.

[subsection]UserMenu

  [images/UserMenu.tga]

The UserMenu allows you to configure personal settings. These settings are automatically loaded from the file $HOME/.B.blend each time Blender is started. Personal settings cannot be written to a file other than .B.blend. The HotKey CTRL-U can be used to overwrite the file .B.blend.

[point]Font: (TextBut)

  [images/InfoWindowPathes.tga]

The directory from which Blender retrieves vector fonts for Font Objects.

[point]Render: (TextBut)

The directory to which Blender renders by default.

[point]Textures: (TextBut)

The directory from which Blender retrieves pictures for textures and texture plugins.

[point]TexPlugin (TextBut)

The directory from which Blender retrieves Texture plugins.

[point]SeqPlugin (TextBut)

The directory from which Blender retrieves Sequence plugins.

[point]Sounds (TextBut)

The directory from which Blender retrieves soundfiles by default.

[point]Auto Temp Save (TogBut)

  [images/AutoTmpSave.tga]

Blender can save 'temp' files at regular intervals as a temporary backup or as extra protection against disasters. The files are identical to Blender files saved in the normal manner. If Blender is in EditMode when this function is used, only the original Data are saved, without saving the Data with which you are working. Blender saves 'temp' files in the specified 'temp' directory with the name "<process-id>.blend". This results in unique names for all 'temp' files, allowing multiple Blenders to simultaneously write 'temp' files on the same computer. When Blender is closed down, the file is renamed "quit.blend", making it easy to retrieve work in progress if the user inadvertently quits Blender. Blender writes files very quickly, which means that waiting time is kept to a minimum, allowing the user to continue working within a split second after saving files of 1-2 Mb.

[point]Time: (NumBut)

The time interval in minutes required to write 'temp' files.

[point]Dir: (TextBut)

The directory to which 'temp' files are written. Do not use network drives if possible. Instead, use a local directory on your own workstation.

[point]Load Temp (But)

This button, the Blender 'disaster' button, loads the most recently saved 'temp' file.

[point]Versions (NumBut)

This option also allows you to work with Blender more safely. When this option is activated, files that are overwritten by Blender are assigned a new file name with a version number. For example:
If 'Versions' has a value of '2' and the file 'rt.blend' is being written:

  [images/GeneralOptions.tga]

[point]Scene Global (TogBut)

Each Screen can display a different Scene. In cases involving numerous active Screens, this can be somewhat confusing. This option can be used to display the current Scene in all Screens.

[point]NoCapsLock (TogBut)

This button can be used to deactivate the CapsLock key. This button only applies to the TextButton.

[point]ViewMove (TogBut)

By default, MiddleMouse causes a rotation in the 3Dwindow and SHIFT+MiddleMouse causes a translation. The option "ViewMove" toggles the key code.

[point]TrackBall (TogBut)

There are two methods to rotate a 3DView with MiddleMouse. The TrackBall method offers more freedom than the other option, the turn table method.

[point]2-Mouse (TogBut)

With this option activated, the third mousbutton is emulated by pressing ALT+LeftMouse.

[point]Mat on Obj (TogBut)

By default, Blender assumes that Materials are linked to the ObData when new Objects are created. This option toggles between the default and the alternative, which links Materials directly to the Object.

[point]ToolTips (TogBut)

With this option activated, tooltips are shown when you stop with the mousepointer over a button. The tooltip will briefly describe the function.

[point]Grid options

  [images/GridOptions.tga]

By default, the following limitors apply to grabbing rotating and scaling (press the keys after click and hold with the mouse):

The following alternatives can also be used (when the Viemove option is set):

[point]Grab Grid (TogBut)

Toggle to the alternative limitors for translations.

[point]Size Grid (TogBut)

Toggle to the alternative limitors for scaling.

[point]Rot Grid (TogBut)

Toggle to the alternative limitors for rotation.

[point]Duplication / Linking presets

  [images/DupliOptions.tga]

One of Blender's most advanced features is its use of object-oriented functions. Blender allows you to reuse (i.e. link) data blocks to construct compact and efficient structures.

When one of these buttons is pressed, the indicated DataBlock is duplicated instead of linked when using SHIFT-D . The ALT-D command always makes a copy of the selected Objects with all other data linked.

The most commonly use of links is when activating the Duplicate commands:

[point]ALT+D

create a copy of the selected Objects, reusing (i.e. linking to) all other data, including Meshes and Materials.

[point]SHIFT+D

create a copy of the selected Objects, using these button settings to determine whether links to other data are created or duplicates of other data are created.
-cw- Last modified: Tue Oct 24 12:37:11 CEST 2000